The Annual Convocation of DAV Institute of Engineering and Technology was organized on 13th May, 2017 in the Institute Campus. The convocation marked the beginning of a new phase in the lives of postgraduates and graduates of various departments who will be making a mark for themselves in diverse fields. The Chief Guest of the Convocation was Mr. Alur Seelin Kiran Kumar, Chairman Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) Bangalore while the Guests of Honour were Dr. Ajay Sharma, Director NIT Delhi and Dr. Surender Singh, Director SCL Mohali.

Dr. Manoj Kumar, Principal of the Institute, introduced the Chief Guest to the audience and read out the annual report. He highlighted that Mr. Kumar is a post graduate from Indian Institute of Science Bangalore and was awarded the Padma Shri in 2014 for his contributions to the fields of science and technology.  Mr. Kumar is credited with the design and development of the electro-optical image sensors used in India’s first remote sensing satellite, Bhaskara, launched in 1979 and the subsequent one in 1981, as well as the ocean colour instruments used in weather forecasting, sea zone/landscape mapping and telecommunications. He is also reported to have contributed to the design and development of the imaging instruments for projects such as INSAT–3D, Resourcesat, Micro Satellite and Cartosat. The Terrain Mapping Camera and Hyperspectral Imager payloads of Chandrayaan-1 project are also credited to his efforts. In his report, Dr. Manoj Kumar shared the achievements made by DAVIETians in diverse fields like Placements, academics, spots and extra curricular activities. He highlighted that the placements of DAVIET students have set new benchmarks. The highest pay packet of 20 Lak 50 thousand per Annum has been offered to Ms. Anjan Kaur  from the Department of CSE followed by a pay packet of 16 Lak 80 thousand to Mr. Anmol Sharma from the Department of Information Technology.  He also shared that there have been more than 300 placements in the current session  making DAVIET a destination of choice  for the budding technocrats. Moving on to academics he shared that 98 merit positions have been won by the hard working scholars of the institute. The talented sports persons did not lag behind either and won gold in Badminton, Table Tennis and Chess. In Cricket and handball the respective teams won silver and bronze medals.  He also shared that the Institute won the IKG PTU Zonal and Inter Zonal Youth Festival Trophy for the record 15th  time. He touched upon the area of Research and innovation and stated that total of 8 patents have been filed in the name of the faculty members with the latest ones being filed by Dr. Kanchan L. Singh, Dr. Sanjeev Saini and Dr. Sanjeev Naval. The institution also organized an International Conference in association with NTU Singapore at their campus on 21st and 22nd April. A workshop on Recent Trends in Numerical Analysis  and a seminar on Intellectual property Rights were also  organized in the current academic session. To ensure the development of faculty a 2 weeks online FDP on Research methodology  in association with NTTTR Chandigarh was also organized. NSS Unit of the Institution is doing its bit to bring about a positive change in the society. Blood donation, Eye check up camps, free classes for poor children are a regular fixture. In addition to it, the Institution has adopted Village Bal under National Digital Literacy Mission  and it will be the first digital literate village of Punjab because of the initiative of DAVIETians.  In addition to it an MOU with University of Ontario  has been signed.

Mr. A. S Kiran Kumar in his address highlighted the role of education and stated that it should be should be oriented towards development of the society to improve the quality of life of every citizen in the country. He stressed upon the fact that with the advancement in technology the challenges facing mankind have also increased manifold. He shared that with population growth, rapid urbanization and the increase in affluence in the globalized world there has been a great surge in the demand for natural resources such as, fossil fuels, metals, biomass, water etc.  As the threat of climate change looms on the horizon, emphasis is being given to the sector of renewable energy. He urged upon the engineers to be committed to make decisions on sustainable use of resources, optimum energy utilization and exploration of non-conventional energy, sustainable infrastructure development and designing new environment friendly products to reduce the level of pollution. Highlighting the achievements of ISRO he stated that it has so far  launched 151 missions which include 59 launch vehicles, 88 satellites and one each of Space Capsule Recovery Experiment, Reusable Launch Vehicle Technology Demonstrator, Crew Module Atmospheric Re-entry Experiment & Scramjet Engine Technology Demonstrator. While elaborating about INSAT he shared that it is one of the largest domestic satellite communication systems in the world which makes India self sufficient in telecommunications, television broadcasting, radio networking, meteorology and disaster management services.  He also touched upon ISRO’s recent record making milestone with the successful launch of 104 satellites, in a single attempt, onboard India’s Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle PSLV-C37 on February 15, 2017. These satellites include – (i) India’s Cartosat-2 Series Satellite as primary payload, (ii) two Indian Nano-Satellites viz., INS-1A & 1B and (iii) 101 foreign nano-satellites from six countries as co-passengers. He urged upon the students to always remain positive and strive hard to achieve all their aims in life.

Dr. Sonia Chawala, Dean Academics, extended the vote of thanks. She thanked the Chief Guest, The Guest of Honour, Secretary DAVCMC Mr. Arwind Ghai, members of local Managing committee for taking time out of their bust schedules and making the convocation a success. She highlighted that in all degrees for three academic sessions were awarded. A total of around 220 post graduate degrees and 350 graduate degrees were conferred upon the students.

The Annual Convocation was attended by Mr. Arwind Ghai, Secretary, DAVCMC New Delhi,  Dr. A.K paul, VC DAV University, Dr. Rekha Kalia Bhardwaj, Registrar DAV University, Principal Aery, Principal Subhash Kumar, Mr. Kundan Lal Aggarwal, Dr. Sonia Chawla, Dean Academics, Dr. Jagjeet Malhotra, Dean Students Affairs, Dr. Sudhir Sharma, Dean Research and Innovation, Dr. Narinder Sharma, Deputy Dean Academics, Mr. Savdeep Vasudewa, Deputy Dean Academics, Dr. Neeru Malhotra, Head Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering, Ms. Harpreet Bajaj, Head Department of Computer Science and Technology, Mr. Gaurav Dhuria, Head Department of Mechanical Engineering, Mr Parveen Kakkar, Head Department of Computer Application, Dr. Kanchan L Singh, Head Department of Applied Sciences  and faculty and staff of the institution.